St. Francis of Assisi School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Header Donate Button

School Commission

The Catholic school is an expression of the educational mission of both the parish and the Archdiocese with which it is associated.  Father Richard Hayatsu is responsible to the Archbishop for the administration of the total parish, including the parish school.  Rosemary Leifer, Principal, reports to the pastor, is a member of the parish staff, and functions as the chief administrator of the school.  


Just as the parish council serves with the pastor on behalf of the total parish community, so the school commission serves with the principal on behalf of the school community.  Today's catholic school principal, faced with many demands, needs assistance from a group of people who are committed to the Catholic school and willing to work for the good of the school and parish.  The school commission provides this assistance.  


The School Commission Board meets every-other-month on the 3rd Tuesday of the month from September to June, at 7pm.  On the months the full Commission does not meet, each sub-committee meets to discuss issues specific to that committee.


The school commission is an advisory body comprised of twelve elected members established by Father Hayatsu and Rosemary Leifer, in accordance with Archdiocesan policy, to assist them in the governance of St. Francis of Assisi School.  Members are selected and/or elected to participate in decision-making in designated areas of responsibility.  Usually these areas include planning, policy formation, finances, the selection or appointment of the principal, development (including public relations and marketing) and evaluation.  (Building Better Boards, 1990)


Our School Commission plays a very important role in our school.  Its purpose is to advise and support the pastor and the principal in the formation of policy and the ongoing development of our school.  Our current school commission members are all school parents who advise the pastor and principal on school policy.  They come from a variety of backgrounds and professions.  Currently the members are:

Father Richard Hayatsu Pastor
Rosemary Leifer Principal
Jerry Shields Chair
Sunae Wong Vice Chair
Erika DuBois  Secretary 
Chris Aley Member
Maureen DeGroot Member
Erica Gower Member 
Daniel Kingston Member
Pete Nichols Member
David Paice Member 
Michael Scoville Member
Stuart Steadman Member 
Lisa Tribble Member
Krista Tuininga Member
Alana Vinther Member 



Dear Families,


In November of 2017 we had our Stakeholders' meeting.  Everyone in our school community was invited to come and provide input into the future of our school.  If you weren't able to attend, it's not too late.  

At the meeting, we met in small groups to discuss the following topics:  faith and community; academics and extracurricular; our people: staff and volunteers; and facilities, finance and development.  Attached is the background information/survey results shared before each discussion.  If you weren't able to come to the meeting, I invite you to read over the attached documents.


If you have questions, suggestions, or just want to provide input about anything you read or any of the topics, please email or contact me.  If one of the topics really interests you and you would like to be part of group that dives deeper into the topic and comes up with recommendations for the Strategic Planning Committee, please let me know.  I would love to hear from you.


Peace and blessings,


Rosemary Leifer